Gibraltar FML Story / Back On The Grind

Hey folks, long time no post. There is several reasons for that. I start with the real life. I was supposed to move into a new apartment on February 1st. But as usual in south-europe nobody can keep promises or even stick to contracts. On the evening me and my friend should’ve picked up the keys the guy told us you gonna wait 3-4 more days because the other tenants are still in there. There furniture for their new place (same estate agency) wasn’t there. We were pretty upset but they moved us into a new place the next day, with Internet and everything. Baller Apartment so it was alright. After the 4 days were over the furniture still wasn’t there, so this “next day”-talk went on for a while. 14 days later the family finally moves out 18 days were already over, the ageny or landlord didn’t manage to switch the electricity. So it was shut down. You would think in a civilized country that this can’t be a big problem. Afterall we are supposed to move into a major aparment-block with tons of flats and as long as this building has electricity, whats the fucking problem? Turns out in Gib it can take up to 14 days to get the electricity back on. I might expect things like this in Thailand or Africa or whatever, but not in a place where you pay about 1.500€ for the usual one-bedroom apartment. The story obv doesn’t end here. It was the 17th and the baller place I was in was lent to the agency by some rich guys from England. Some gay couple with shitloads of money. This couple was coming back and I had to leave their place. Of course with no electricity I would have to move into a free apartment again. At this point I was already wearing the same cloth everyday, because I didn’t wanna unpack. There was no free storage room and I was supposed to move any day anyway. At least thats what I was told everyday. So I moved again the 3rd time in less than 3 weeks. At this point I was pissed already. The next place was fine but the Internet didn’t work. Obv beautiful situation for a Pokerplayer on SNE-Chase to have an apartment without electricty that is paid for 6 months in advance and another apartment where you actually can live that doesn’t Internet.

I was fed up with the start of the year already. Losing 40.000$ in a horrible downswing, that still seems to be going on btw, getting scammed by three fucked up losers in the end of 2011 for additional 8.000$ and losing also last year 10.000$ on a bad staking run. Although it happened last year it all hurts bad after starting the year like this. The 10k staking bad run is fine though, afterall it was mostly good +EV spots. Nevertheless it was all fucked up. Over 50.000$ were missing that I wanted to use for my SNE Chase in 2012. I payed like 6.000$ for an apartment that still had to be cleaned and fixed a little after the electricity and internet works if it ever does and I was sitting in a internetless apartment in the same fucking clothes I was wearing for about 3 weeks. I had disconnects in Gibraltar due to blackouts that cost me sth. between 8 and 10.000$ as well. I had to play my sunday shedule at my friends places who had a spare room with a borrowed laptop because mine wasn’t working for several reasons. The lend one was pretty old though and multitabling was suge a pain in the ass. And Stars was lagging as well over the weekend combined with Gibraltar disconnection problems. Also I had to chase after my old landlord for another 1.000$. She told me I was her best tenant and treated the apartment well and bla bla bullshit. But when it comes to pay me back what is mine, she suddenly stops returning my calls. Talk is cheap, fucking slut! I just couldn’t take it anymore. I was so fed up with Gib I booked a flight outta there. How much longer can I afford to lose money like this? I blind out and lose thousands of Dollars not to mention the EV I lose. The way I run any tournament could turn anything around for me so I can’t afford to just miss a couple of orbits from time to time. In Cash Game this might work, there is even disconnect protection in some games but MTTs and SNGs they just go on if I am there or not. Meanwhile I am chasing SNE and think about pissing in a fucking bottle to not lose money while going to the toilet (not joking, I haven’t done it yet but I am really considering and I know several players who do it). Trying to max profits like this and lose 10.000$ to typical Gibraltar mishaps. I mean it’s one thing if everything else is going according to plan but this year nothing works out the way its supposed to. And the most disgusting thing is people that don’t stick to their word. Where is the fucking honor in this world? Doesn’t matter if you are landlord, estate agent, poker player, banker, politician or whatever. Liers and cheaters all over the fucking place. If I can’t pay back my stakers or sth. I tell them I don’t have it right now, it’s Poker you know. Can be crazy sometimes, let’s work out a rate and I pay back more when I can. Or you can share this and that but I would keep going until everybody is paid or at least pay most of it back but so it’s not a total loss for them. Why people just disappear and hide or find stupid excuses all the time is beyond me. I mean look what happened to me the last 4-5 weeks. I got fucked so bad but do you think I didn’t pay my share for the new place even though it wasn’t ready. No, I made a promise so I pay the money. 6.000$ for an apartment I never sat foot in. But I would never let the other two guys down. Meanwhile I get screwed over by other people all my life. I also had to sleep at Malaga Airport again though I was more waiting 10 hours for my flight but I couldn’t find a driver out of Gib later. Disgusting let me tell you. From other countries in Europe I can be faster in Australia but whatever. What doesn’t kill me makes me stronger right?!

Enough whining about my life. I got my health and I am a young man with ability. Life could be so much worse 😉 I will be back at the tables this Saturday. Got my Holdem Manager working again, took me about 6 hours to fix but whatever. I don’t wanna give up any edge no more. Times are tough enough as it is. I am way behind pace but hey it’s over 10 month til the end of the year 🙂 95.000 VPP & a heavily damaged bankroll won’t hold me back. Supernova Elite here I come!!!

More on Poker in my next post. I am gonna talk less about life and more about playing and the Poker World in the future posts. But people have been asking me where I am and why I am not playing and whats going on. So I thought I just unload my shit here so everybody knows and I can move on afterwards.

Actually I like the original version much better, but the song-choice is more about making a point because the title is perfect. I just find stupid remix ripoffs and I don’t wanna bother searching at 6AM. Hope you don’t mind.

About rosenthal87

I'm a pokerplayer from Germany who started his career in the summer of 2009 with 200$ bankroll and no money in the bank, chasing the dream. Because of unsolved tax problems in Germany I'm moving to London in January 2011. With this Blog I'd like to stay in touch with friends & my poker buddies. I will be blogging in englisch and german as well. I will inform you about my day2day life, poker, my trips around the globe and whatever comes to my mind. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gibraltar FML Story / Back On The Grind

  1. Eoin says:

    Pretty apt song!
    Great blog post, good to see still maintain a great outlook on life! If it was me I wouldn’t have that mental patience.
    Look forward to seeing things turn at the tables for you, and hopefully you start pulling in those Eoin

Leave a Reply

